All comparisons

COMPARE · 11 / 12

BuhoCleaner or macleanup.

A paid Mac cleaner from Dr. Buho with a one-tap Flash Clean, an app uninstaller with leftover removal, a disk space analyser and startup item controls.

Last checked

Check BuhoCleaner yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
BuhoCleaner
1 Year Subscription, 3 Macs$17.99 a year

Sale price; the store shows $39.99 struck through

Source,

Lifetime License$25.99 once

Sale price; the store shows $67.99 struck through

Source,

10 Macs, Lifetime$69.99 once

Sale price; the store shows $189.99 struck through

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by BuhoCleaner

Choose BuhoCleaner if you want a notarised app with a one-tap clean, a visual disk analyser and a menu bar monitor for RAM, CPU and fan speed.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if you would rather read the list before the clean than tap once, want logs, Docker, Xcode and stale builds covered, and want the command line free with no limit.

Feature by feature.

Each BuhoCleaner answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatBuhoCleanermacleanup
Clears cachesYes sourceYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYes sourceYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsYes sourceYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapYes sourcePartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to useNot stated on the pages we checkedYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYes sourceNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. BuhoCleaner states one or the other. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library. BuhoCleaner states a disk map.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from BuhoCleaner.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.

Pages we read.

7 November 2026: First checked