All comparisons

COMPARE · 05 / 12

CCleaner for Mac or macleanup.

The Mac edition of CCleaner from Gen Digital, with a free tier for junk, duplicates and uninstalls and a paid tier for photo analysis and scheduled browser cleaning.

Last checked

Check CCleaner for Mac yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
CCleaner for Mac
Free$0

1 device

Source,

Professional, 1 Mac$44.95 a year

Billed annually

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by CCleaner for Mac

Choose CCleaner for Mac if you also want duplicate photo cleanup, scheduled browser privacy cleaning, and the same brand on your PC and Android phone.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if you want developer caches, Docker, Xcode, stale build folders and orphaned app data covered in one place, with the exact paths shown before a run.

Feature by feature.

Each CCleaner for Mac answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatCCleaner for Macmacleanup
Clears cachesYes sourceYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsYes sourceYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to useYes sourceYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedNot stated on the pages we checkedNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from CCleaner for Mac.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.