All comparisons

COMPARE · 02 / 12

DaisyDisk or macleanup.

A disk space analyser that draws your disk as a sunburst map so you can find and delete the largest files yourself.

Last checked

Check DaisyDisk yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
DaisyDisk
Mac App Store edition$9.99 once

The vendor's own site states a one-time licence fee for the stand-alone edition but shows no figure on the pages we checked

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by DaisyDisk

Choose DaisyDisk if you want to see your whole disk as a map and decide file by file what goes, with no cleanup presets at all.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if the space you lose is in caches, logs and the data apps left behind, and you want numbered sections that find those for you and show the paths first.

Feature by feature.

Each DaisyDisk answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatDaisyDiskmacleanup
Clears cachesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapYes sourcePartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to usePartial Free trial: you can browse the map; deleting needs the paid app. sourceYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYes sourceNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. DaisyDisk states one or the other. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library. DaisyDisk states a disk map.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from DaisyDisk.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.