All comparisons

COMPARE · 10 / 12

MacCleaner Pro or macleanup.

A paid bundle of six Nektony cleanup tools, including an app uninstaller, a disk space analyser and a cache and log cleaner.

Last checked

Check MacCleaner Pro yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
MacCleaner Pro
Subscription or one-time purchaseNot stated on the pages we checked

The page states both a subscription and a one-time purchase; the figures load by script and were not readable on the pages we checked

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by MacCleaner Pro

Choose MacCleaner Pro if you want a notarised bundle with a visual disk analyser, a duplicate finder and a memory cleaner alongside the cache, log and app cleanup.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if you want cache, log and orphan cleanup free and under MIT on the command line, with a dry run that prints every path before the real run.

Feature by feature.

Each MacCleaner Pro answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatMacCleaner Promacleanup
Clears cachesYes sourceYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsYes sourceYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYes sourceYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsYes sourceYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapYes sourcePartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to usePartial A 2-day free trial. sourceYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYes sourceNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. MacCleaner Pro states one or the other. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library. MacCleaner Pro states a disk map.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from MacCleaner Pro.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.