All comparisons

COMPARE · 08 / 12

MacKeeper or macleanup.

A subscription Mac suite from Clario that bundles cleanup and an uninstaller with antivirus, a VPN, adware blocking and identity monitoring.

Last checked

Check MacKeeper yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
MacKeeper
1-month plan, 1 Mac$10.95 a month

Billed every month

Source,

12-month plan, 1 Mac$71.40 a year

First-year price shown with a discount; the page states subsequent payments of $95.40 annually

Source,

12-month plan, 3 Macs$89.40 a year

First-year price shown with a discount; the page states subsequent payments of $119.40 annually

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by MacKeeper

Choose MacKeeper if you want antivirus, a VPN, breach monitoring and 24/7 chat support in the same subscription as the cleanup.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if cleanup is the whole job: caches, logs, orphaned data and unused apps, free on the command line, with every path listed before a run and nothing else bundled in.

Feature by feature.

Each MacKeeper answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatMacKeepermacleanup
Clears cachesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYes sourceYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsYes sourceYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to usePartial The Free column shows cleanup limited to one week or one time. sourceYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYes sourceNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. MacKeeper states one or the other. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from MacKeeper.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.