All comparisons

COMPARE · 06 / 12

Pearcleaner or macleanup.

A free, source-available Mac app uninstaller with an orphaned file search, a Homebrew manager and a development environment manager.

Last checked

Check Pearcleaner yourself

PRICES AS READ2026-11-07
Pearcleaner
Free$0

Source-available under Apache 2.0 with Commons Clause

Source,

macleanup
Free$0 always
Pro$4 a month

or $36 a year

Team$3 a seat a month

from 3 seats · $30 a seat a year

From our pricing page

Plan names as each maker writes them

Who each one serves better.

Better served by Pearcleaner

Choose Pearcleaner if you want a free native uninstaller with a right-click Finder extension, an orphan search and Homebrew and plugin managers in one app.

Better served by macleanup

Choose macleanup if you also need caches, logs, Docker, Xcode and stale builds handled, an actively released command line under MIT, and a dry run you can read before deciding.

Feature by feature.

Each Pearcleaner answer is what its own pages state; follow the source to read it. Our answers come from the script and the app.

WhatPearcleanermacleanup
Clears cachesNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Sections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes Section 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYes sourceYes Section 12.
Uninstalls appsYes sourceYes Section 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapNot stated on the pages we checkedPartial A text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to useYes sourceYes The command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedNot stated on the pages we checkedNo Not notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourcePartial Source-available under Apache 2.0 with Commons Clause. sourcePartial The command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.

Where macleanup falls short.

Read these before you choose it.

  • Not notarised by Apple, and not on the Mac App Store. The first time you open the app, macOS stops it and you choose Open Anyway in Privacy & Security. The steps
  • A text disk report, not a visual map. Section 26 prints folder sizes for your home folder and ~/Library.
  • No undo. Sections 12, 21 and 24 move items to the Trash. Anything else deleted directly needs a backup to recover. What gets deleted
  • A run limit in the app. The Free plan gives 15 real runs a month on each Mac. The command line has no limit.
  • The app's source is private. The command line is MIT licensed and public; the desktop app is not.

Moving from Pearcleaner.

The guide maps what you use there to numbered sections, with a preview before anything changes.

Pages we read.

7 November 2026: First checked